Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Upgrading belts

Posted by tmorris9 
Upgrading belts
April 24, 2014 07:16PM
My printer has GT belts. In an attempt to upgrade my machine I bought some GT2 belts and metal pulleys from Lulzbot. The new pulleys have the same number of teeth but they are a little smaller in diameter and of course the GT2 teeth are smaller. I choose these as with searching for the best belts the GT2 seemed to be the choice in RepRap.

So, what I want to know is if I will need to calibrate my machine changing the firmware once I do the upgrade. This scares me a little as I have never done this before and am a little worried about messing something up. I can do hardware and electronics no problem but the software end is mostly a mystery to me. I do know my machine uses Repetier firmware and I do have the Arduino app from a kit I played with a few years ago.
Re: Upgrading belts
April 24, 2014 09:55PM
The same number of teeth but smaller will need new calibration. Just work out the math for how many steps per mm of travel there should be with the new pulleys, and the software side is just a matter of replacing the right number with the new one, compile and upload. You can get through it.

Anyhow, breaking things is just another way to learn right?
April 24, 2014 10:08PM
Dale Dunn

Anyhow, breaking things is just another way to learn right?

True but I do rely on my printer for part of my income. Probably not as hard to do as my imagination makes it.
April 24, 2014 10:26PM
You can upgrade your firmware at the same time with Repetier's fancy configuration tool. Grab your old configuration.h file from the old firmware and use the fancy step/mm calculator to find the new numbers to input. You will get new firmware in the process. Make sure you change the EEPROM so that the settings are fully transcribed.
April 25, 2014 05:19PM
Using the Prusa calculator may be helpful, too.
April 25, 2014 06:23PM
^This guy
April 27, 2014 02:00AM