Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRap G3D

Posted by Vibestar 
RepRap G3D
January 08, 2014 01:42PM
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie in the world of 3D printing. I did tried to read a lot of material on this forum and other websites. I work at a school which is going to invest in some 3d printers but I also want one at home.

For a while I'm looking for the right DIY kit. I have a hard time picking the right model. I really like the apeal of a Rostock (or Deltaprintr. I don't know why!!! They are just a little to expensive for me.
I can't really get my fingers around the difference between a Mendel or a Prusa i3. Which is better?

I have around 500 euro to spend (before my wife gets mad). So I found this one [gadgets3d.eu].
It's just a Reprap Prusa i3 but with almost everything on it. Only thing missing is a powersuply (which I have here) and a heated bed to also print ABS (which is not difficult to buy).
Why I think this could be the deal for me. Low cost, good looks, no tax or import costs and a good manual for a noob smiling smiley.

Some tech specs

Print Area Dimensions 200 mm x 200 mm x 200 mm
Print Volume 8000 cm3
Printer Dimensions 450mm x 460mm x 420mm
Supported Filament PLA, Nylon, PVA and Laywoo-D3
Usable Maximum Print Speed 1800 mm/min
Usable Maximum Movement Speed 12000 mm/min
Layer Height 100 - 400 micron
X & Y Axis Resolution 0.0125 mm (12.5 Micron)
Frame Highly-precise laser cutted black acrylic parts
Power Requirements Switchable AC-DC adapter 110-230VAC to 0-25 VDC
Hotend G3D HotEnd v1.2 pre-assembled with 1.75-3mm filament support
Electronics Complete soldered RAMPS 1.4 with 4x A4988 G3D Drivers with dual extruder support

What do you think? Should I keep on searching or is this a good price for a noob??
Thanks in regards.
Re: RepRap G3D
January 08, 2014 04:55PM
Look good. The only thing I don't like is the hot-end. I can't tell without reading the manual but I would want to make sure