Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bought off chinese website, here are troubles

Posted by zahmed 
Bought off chinese website, here are troubles
December 15, 2013 01:22AM
hello,
i am new to 3d printing, and bought a Reprap kit with Huxley board. here is a picture of it

i made all the connections according the diagram and checked the connections for any error with the mutimeter. Once assemble i started the machine using the "repetier"
software and in manual mode checked all the movements. It worked perfectly fine in X, Z, and Y direction.

Then i gave it a job to do and suddenly smoke started to come out of the board where "BED" wires go. keep in mind that while connecting bed wires, there was no negative and possitive. i quickly switched off everything, then i turned on taking "BED" wires out and checked for the X,Y,Z movements and it worked fine. While the machine was on the extruder caught fire. and here is a picture of it :

After this incident, the board connects to the computer but nothing works. !

So what do you guys think happened ? how can i get it fixed ? is the extrutruder and board dead ?
Re: Bought off chinese website, here are troubles
December 15, 2013 07:29AM
Did you wire the extruder sensor (5v) and the heat elements (12v) wiring corretly? i.e you weren't pushing 12v down the 5v sensor cable to the sensor? Although i wouldn't expect it to catch fire like that, just burn the board out.
Did you check the sensor resistance (as per instructions) before powering up to confirm all the wiring?

Just some thoughts
Graham
December 15, 2013 08:55AM
The first issue (bed wires) probably resulted from the connectors not being tight enough. It's also possible that the wire was dirty. If you nicked the wire / cut strands when you stripped it, that's a third thing to check.