Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ATX Power Supply Low Voltage

Posted by rcullan 
ATX Power Supply Low Voltage
November 23, 2013 04:40PM
Hey all,
I bought a nice Corsair ATX power supply to power my printer, it is rated for 40+ amps on its single 12V rail so I bought this figuring it would be perfect for my application. I was using a 10A laptop charger (which did work) but it gets REALLY warm when the printer is running.

But I have an issue, I am only getting about 11.8V coming out of the power supply and as a result my print bed is struggling to get to 90C, it takes almost an hour and will not get over 91C. By comparrison the laptop charger was putting out 12.7V and that heated up the bed in about 30 min right to 95C.

Any suggestions as to how I can improve the 12V voltage output? Has anyone seen a similar issue?
I have seen a few people who have recommended adding a ~10W power resistor to the 5V rail. But I'm not an expert and fail to understand how modifying the 5V line can improve the volatge output on the 12V line. Currently I dont have anything hooked up to any of the 5V or 3.3V lines.

Thanks!
Re: ATX Power Supply Low Voltage
November 23, 2013 05:47PM
I'm not sure this is really a power supply issue. The difference in voltages is probably only giving you about 15% less power

There are a lot of postings about heat bed problems.

Most of the problems are normally related to faulty heat beds, wires being too thin, lack of insulation below the heat bed, cold air from open windows etc blowing over the printer and cooling things, thickness of glass causing a lot of thermal mass.

Personally, I have problems getting the bed to 115deg. I've replaced the heat bed with one from a supplier linked from the wiki, but it didn't make much difference.
I put very large wires to the he'd bed, and made them as short as possible, but again it didn't make a big difference.
I put the whole printer in an enclosure I built, and this helped me a bit.