Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A few questions from a noob reprapper

Posted by enrapha 
A few questions from a noob reprapper
November 22, 2013 10:15PM
Hey everybody,

I'm pretty new to the scene here, I got my reprap a few weeks ago and have been spending that time learning the machine and the soft/firmware that goes a long with it. I'm honestly surprised I made it this far without needing help yet lol.

Anyways I had a few questions and prolly more in the future as I get more in depth with this stuff.

1. I'm starting on my first "Large" segemented piece. this is about 134.58mm x 134.58mm x 168.3mm for this single piece, now this piece ir required to have solid infil and some support printed to it as well. as per ponterface my print is going to take me 19hours total. I'm already 4 hours into and am 25% done. does this seem like a normal ammount of time to do a print such as this?

2. Since currently these prints require a signifigant ammount of time to print is it safe for me to not have to watch all this time? I.e. can I go grocery shopping or do a full days work or sleep even without a gigantic fear that my print will be a neat blob of goo when I get back?

3. If so do you have any tips or suggestions that would help to safeguard a proper print? or is it just s shot in the dark?

4. Are there any safe meathods to speed things up more?

And just for more information I am using the reprap mono mendel with abs plastic at 240c for the hotend and 97c for the bed(according to my thermometer its misreading by about 5 degrees! so 97 is really about 102)

thank you very much for all of your help smiling smiley
christian
Re: A few questions from a noob reprapper
November 23, 2013 07:41AM
enrapha