Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building the Prusa Mendel i3

Posted by ToastyC 
Building the Prusa Mendel i3
November 11, 2013 08:44PM
Hello, I am looking to build the Prusa Mendel, and am very confused at the array of choices needed to be made. Specifically the parts needed (excluding the printed ones). When I order the necessary equipment, I want to know everything is there. So could someone lead me in the right direction to good vendors with the specific object's page. I don't want to overdo on how much I spend, the minimum would be nice.
Re: Building the Prusa Mendel i3
November 11, 2013 08:46PM
You might try the Prusa Mendel area here on the forum. There's a lot of information there and several active threads going over many of the details of this and that kit. One variable is where you happen to need it shipped to.
AAA
November 13, 2013 06:30AM
I am a newbie for prusa i3, i finished my i3 building in last week, and the commission looks OK. I think i can share something to you.
actually i had not spent too much time on searching for kits, cause i buy all the kits from the same vendor, it turns out that there days there are lots of suppliers for i3 kits. they can package all for you.I chose a vendor who supplied all the kits at the price of $600. but compare to the original design of prusa i3 it have some changes. they use organic glass rather than aluminium to make the frame, so it both saved the cost and the weight. and the 8mm thick glass also can promise the stability. another change is the control board, my i3 use MELZI to insteed of RAMPS plus MEG2560, this change as a newbie i think is very necessary, MELZI can be easily connected by bolting other than soldering, so this make the wiring job much more easy.
this is my email:[email protected]. i can send you some mine i3 pics through email
November 13, 2013 12:29PM