Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Melzi board question

Posted by msb 
msb
Melzi board question
October 18, 2013 06:54AM
Hi,

I have a tricolour mendel using the two typical master-slave Melzi boards, and was thinking on adding a lcd to it. I've searched all around and seems to be quite difficult to achieve this because of the lack of aditional gpio for the task on the Melzi. I was wondering if I could use the serial interface that normally drives the usb on the slave melzi, because the usb its not used there. I can work around firmware dev but I have little to none experience on soldering sad smiley.

Can anyone help me with this questions:
- is this actually possible?
- I imagine that is not as easy as getting rid of miniusb and use DM/DP as rx/tx is it? Can anyone give me just some orientation on what should I alter on the slave board?

EDIT:
Looking at schematics I realized how retarded my DM/DP question must sound smiling smiley .... think its the ATMEGA1284P AOFI and AIFO pins I'm looking for, no?

ps: sorry my english

Thanks and best regards,
MSB

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 10/18/2013 08:30AM by msb.
msb
Re: Melzi board question
October 18, 2013 08:40AM
Taking in account what I need to connect the lcd, this is what I was thinking (with my limited knowledge on electronics tongue sticking out smiley):

Any sugestions/warnings before I totally mess up my board? grinning smiley

Thanks

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/18/2013 08:42AM by msb.
Attachments:
open | download - pinout.png (140.5 KB)
A2
October 18, 2013 08:48AM
I found this in my notes:

Melzi + Raspberry Pi combo (LCD)
[forums.reprap.org]
msb
October 18, 2013 08:58AM
Thank you A2 for the link.... search is a never ending story smiling smiley

RPi is an interesting approach, I've already thought going that way. But before that, I was trying to simplify setup, using the Melzis I already have... not yet sure if going to a dead end.
October 18, 2013 05:39PM