Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

newest newbie questions.

Posted by makovai 
newest newbie questions.
September 25, 2013 12:57PM
I have been a CNC programmer for 30 years so I thought this would be a fun hobby. I have a long extensive background with Mastercam and Solidworks as well as I started writing G-code before CAM (1982) was even available.
I bought a I3X with Sanguinololu kit and built it with alot of issues that seem to be common but nothing I haven't figured out with good ol google.

At this point my machine will jog all axis and go home nicely. I seem to have pronterface figured out and have drawn up a simple part that slicer did a nice job of making the G-code.

I am still struglling with a couple of small things before I attempt my first print that I thought I would let you experienced guru's comment on.

1. I cant seem to get my extruder heater nor my bed heater to turn on. I tried manully putting in the m-codes but im still uncertain if I have the correct ones.

2. My heated bed is very thin made of like FR4 circuit board. IMO its not flat enough for my liking. Anybody tryed covering it with a thin piece of glass? just an idea i had. I am wondering if I should get a finger indicator on there and check flatness.

I decided to draw my I3X in a solid model for future improvements. I attached a PDF of this. I am wondering if anyone else has a printer like this one. Mine just appears to be different than other I3X i see on the market. Most notely the angled vertical supports are in the back and most i see are in the front.

Thanks for your help in advance.....happy printing.
Attachments:
open | download - i3x all.pdf (513 KB)
Re: newest newbie questions.
September 25, 2013 01:10PM
Hey,

Well do you use Prontrface to heat it up?
If that does work you could try checking if you get any amps from the eletrical port to your Nozzle, and example to check if your nozzle passes the eletrical with a multimeter.