Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS 1.4 Wiring

Posted by bedsingar 
RAMPS 1.4 Wiring
June 14, 2013 03:58PM
Hi there,

I've just bought a kit from ebay with all the parts to build one of the repraps - including RAMPS 1.4 board. I am a complete newbie to elctronics though so it is proving a bit of a journey - especially as the parts are customised and don't match the guides on here.

I've managed to get it mostly built but have a few issues outstanding which I'm not sure of the cause...

Using Pronterface to connect to the printer I can:

Move X motor
Move Y motor
move extruder motor
Heat bed
Heat print head

However the following don't seem to be working:

Z axis motors - I tried connecting them to the extruder port (Because I knew that was working)- they buzz but don't do anything else. On the left set of Z pins there is no response at all.

Neither of the thermistors are getting a reading for Pronterface - not sure if I have to configure these? - from what I have read it doesn't matter which way round they are wired. - have soldered the sires direct to the ends of the thermistors.

The mechanical end stops are not working - if I click home on X or Y it travels in the right direction, hits the end stop and then just clicks until I reset the board. Have tried reversing the polarity on these but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

Does anybody have any ideas what I need to do to resolve the above?

Thanks
Re: RAMPS 1.4 Wiring
June 14, 2013 07:44PM
zaxis problem:

make sure you dont disconnect and reconnect any motors with power from the PSU on. I would go as far to say dont even have a pololu stepper in there if you have no motor connected to that slot. Try taking out hte pololu stepper from the z-axis and swap it with the Y-axis pololu and see if it moves the stepper. this will check for faulty/blown steppers.

Thermistor: