Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

is there a parts list?can get a used reprap?any advice?

Posted by PutaZo_BMX 
is there a parts list?can get a used reprap?any advice?
June 12, 2013 05:45AM
ok so far the cheapest kit i seen is $500 but im not sure what i should watch out for or what a good place to order it from

i seen lots of parts on ebay but idk what parts to get im sure it would be cheaper to order parts, i seen a reprap for $300 but the price will go up for sure

anyway is there like a parts list i can look at to try and find all the parts?
or should i buy a kit?

im new to reprap but i messed with electronics,soldering,circuit boards, programming, and 3d software but i never messed with 3d printers before

what do you guys recommend?
i need to build some stuff about the size of an iphone and some tiny little gears
whats my options for a cheap reprap? and an accurate reprap?
Re: is there a parts list?can get a used reprap?any advice?
June 13, 2013 03:44PM
If your in the USA I would reccomend one of the kits from Maker Farm. I haven't actually bought their kit, but it's comprable in price to the one I bought from Canada and has some better parts from what I can see. I have ordered some other stuff from them though and the were good to deal with. They have some good reviews here on the form too.

[www.makerfarm.com]

If your looking to print small little gears, you might want to consider something like a rostock or something. From the pics I've seen they seem to print at a finer quality. But don't take my word for it. I'm on my first printer an Prusa i2 and am still working on being able printing finer things.

If you want to source the printer your self I hear you can save a $100 or a little more. It get's to be a pain though. I chose to by a kit so I am sure I got all the correct parts that fit together and didn't have to re order stuff. Here's an article about sourcing:

[blog.reprap.org]