Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Motors move back and forth when printer is powered

Posted by PrintRind 
Motors move back and forth when printer is powered
March 25, 2013 09:25AM
Hi,

Yesterday I was powering the motors of my Mendel Prusa for the first time, with the following result:

All axes are moving back and forth (by half a centimetre or so) in an uncontrollable way.
This happens also when the Sanguinololu 1.3a is not connected to the PC. The motion rests for a while when I press the "reset" button on the board but then starts again.

When I try to connect to the Sanguino board via printerface it does not seem to work. Instead it starts continuously returning some apparently pointless numbers. Returning those numbers is presumably correlated with the axes motion, because also this behaviour stops for a while when the reset button on the Sanguino board is pressed.
When the board then starts again to deliver the numbers, also the motion starts.

I am quite new to the 3D printing business and unfortunately not very knowledgeable when it comes to software.
I would greatly appreciate any kind of help!

The Sanguino board is preloaded with firmware, I already bought it in this state.
Maybe uploading the firmware again will help?

Thanx a lot!
Re: Motors move back and forth when printer is powered
March 25, 2013 11:09AM
that sounds like some sort of test firmware to make sure the motors work and everything is wired correctly. I would suggest trying to upload the firmware.
March 27, 2013 10:38PM
I just had the same issue. upgraded firmware and it seems to have resolved the issue.

Dave
March 28, 2013 05:49AM
Many thanks.
I am just struggling to update the firmware. I am trying for days now to compile Sprinter under Windows using Cygwin.
Executing "make" however doesn't work flawlessly. :-(
March 28, 2013 06:50AM
Cygwin? Use the arduinio IDE, that's what its for.
March 28, 2013 08:08AM
I followed the "Complete beginners guide" at: [github.com]