Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ned Help in Choosing Model

Posted by shan2 
Ned Help in Choosing Model
December 23, 2013 12:02AM
Hi all,

I am a complete novice to the world of reprap. I want to build a Prusa I3, however I am having difficulty in choosing a specific model. I have access to 3D printer and laser cutter to cut wood. Which model should I choose? Where shall I find complete documentation for it? Please post the links for the same.

Looking forward to reply!

Thanking you,
Shantanu.
Re: Ned Help in Choosing Model
December 23, 2013 09:52AM
There is no single location to find complete documentation on any of these printers. They are done piece by piece by a lot of people. Nobody ever likes to do the paperwork ....

For laser cut wood, I'd simply clone the MakerFarm kit. All the information on cutting the wood is out there.The doc's they put out on how to build the kit are as good as anything you will find. The resulting printer is no worse / no better than any of the rest of the common i3 designs. It's certainly better than any of the other laser cut printers I have seen.

One alternative is to build a kit as your first printer and to do a scratch built machine as your second printer .....
December 23, 2013 11:56AM
I would go for a well documented kit as a first build. This is a bit different from a Prusa 13 but the documentation and support are excellent. [forums.reprap.org]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/23/2013 06:21PM by Ralph.Hilton.
December 23, 2013 06:07PM
try ord bot kit,
it's strong and durable
once set up, it's a good machine
December 23, 2013 06:58PM
Thank you all for help and I will surely keep your suggestions in mind. I am more inclined to build from scratch as I have access to this amazing workshop and not a lot of money. I went through some resources and found that Rerap Rework is relatively well documented and might get to buy the frame online. How does that seem?
December 23, 2013 09:08PM