Advanced

Z axis problem

Posted by nurchi 
Z axis problem
May 01, 2012 07:18PM
Hi everyone.
I am new to the whole 3D printer thing smiling smiley

I bought a laser-cut Mendel and assembled it, then I made sure
everything moved smoothly before I connected the belts.

Now that the belts are attached, X and Y axes are fine, but Z
barely moves. It makes noise and doesn't move.

When I need it to move, I pull the belt in the right direction and it kind of moves
a bit and then stalls again.

One thing I noticed is that X and Y (when powered) cannot be moved by hand
(as expected with stepper motors), but Z axis moves as if there is no power
applied to the motor.

One other thing I tried is I disconnected the Z axis stepper motor from the driver
board and shorted the green and black together, then pulled the belt; as expected,
I could feel the change in tension as the shaft turned. Same thing with shorting
red with blue, so it is not the motor.

I suspect the driver board. Can someone suggest anything else?

I'll be at the shop again tomorrow and will try another driver.

I need to note that the gears that are on the motors were also laser cut from plywood.
I think it was stupid, but that's all I got for now. The problem with these gears is that
the laser must have been "not perfectly vertical" when the pieces were cut so the teeth
are at an angle compared to the shaft. This moves the belt in one direction or another,
depending on the direction of rotation.

For now, I superglued big washers to the gears so they retain the belt.
Once I get it going, I'll make new gears out of plastic and glue them on the shaft, but
I need the whole thing to get going first.

Please help.

Thanks.

- Nurchi
Re: Z axis problem
May 02, 2012 09:45AM