Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A (New?) GT2 Timing Belt and Pulley source

Posted by pwn4 
A (New?) GT2 Timing Belt and Pulley source
April 09, 2012 01:39AM
Hi guys, I'm new to Reprap and just starting off my first build. I work with systems that use stepper motors, 2mm pitch timing belts, and pulleys at my day job, so when I saw that for Prusa Mendel V2 people were recommending a more accurate than T5 timing belt I knew immediately that that was the right thing to do. I know from experience the kinds of gains in accuracy and precision you get from belt tightness and teeth size.

Anyways, I saw that in the belt guides (such as [reprap.org]) the only suppliers really were sdp-si and Misumi. Unfortunately the former only has something like 36 teeth pulleys, and the latter doesn't have a very friendly website at all. I wanted to maximize torque, since stepper motor speed didn't seem to be a limiting factor - just backlash, etc. So I did a little searching and found this place: royalsupply.com

I just purchased my timing belts and pulleys. I got them 6mm wide, and chose the 18 teeth pulley (as per the minimum in the guide, and as a general average in what I've read other people were getting). Here are their pages for GT2 belts and pulleys:

Pulley: [www.royalsupply.com]

Belt: [www.royalsupply.com]

Just figured some people might find this useful. Their pulley selection is great, but if you want belts the closest to 1m in size they have is something like 1.164 meters (the one I linked) which should work fine.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/09/2012 01:40AM by pwn4.
Re: A (New?) GT2 Timing Belt and Pulley source
April 18, 2012 02:25PM
Thanks that's pretty helpful actually. I'm about to extend the print size of my Prusa and I was thinking of upgrading the belt system while I'm at it.
April 21, 2012 04:33AM