Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CoreXY

Posted by kapperi 
CoreXY
February 24, 2018 12:31PM
I have been looking for CoreXy machine designs for a while now. I allready chosen D-bot as my choice of printer, but then I noticed that chinese mgn9 linear rails are dirty cheap nowadays.

Frame and linear components for D-bot costs rougly 150€ and it is mainly 2040 - size framing

On the other hand it costs about 120€ to make similar with linear bearings from china.

Mechanical part is not a problem(I make it for a living) BUT! Is mgn9 rails enough for 300x300x300 3d printer and are there any reasons that I should choose wheels over rails???
Re: CoreXY
February 24, 2018 12:37PM
HiWin makes quality parts. There are a lot of very crappy knock-offs that use the same part numbering scheme (MGN-xx), making people think they are getting HiWin parts. I wouldn't waste money on the knock-offs. Either buy HiWin parts or get quality Japanese/German/'merican parts. You can often find deals for new old stock or used Japanese linear guides on ebay for little more than the cost of crappy HiWin knockoffs. Look for THK, NSK, or IKO brands.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
February 24, 2018 01:52PM
Yes I know that original Hiwin bearings are top of the line...

Just thinking that are those cheap linear rails better than V-slot wheels.

We use Hiwin bearings and rails at work but prices are huge to 3d printer. Bearing only costs 40e and the rail is 100e per meter.

I want to do printer with these bearings it would cost me over 500e just for the rails and bearings. Offcourse these are little bit larger than mgn9

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/24/2018 01:52PM by kapperi.
February 24, 2018 07:50PM
I just bought two new old stock IKO guide rails for $68 shipped. There are a lot of deals like that if you take the time to sift through the listings.