Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

HugoW's CoreXY machine

Posted by HugoW 
HugoW's CoreXY machine
September 14, 2017 05:11AM
Hi all,

herewith I start my thread on my first 3D printer. I have little knowledge on the subject, what I know I learned on this forum and by googling. I started this project in my head end of last year (2016) and did the first purchases mid-February I think. I don’t really have a budget (not as in undefined, but as in non-existent), and I am very happy with the two second hand NEMA 23 motors and the huge 24V power source I received from a friend and fellow hobbyist for free.

The idea was a 400 x 400 x 250mm printer, but I got a stack of 500mm long 2020 and 2040 extrusions for almost nothing of Marktplaats (Dutch Graig’s list sort-of) which shrunk the area to about 350 x 290 x 220. I might scale it up later. The bed plate is 440 x 440 x 8 mm tooling plate, resulting from a bit of dumpster diving. A local machine factory left-over for a few bucks and they cut it to size for me, too. I was very happy with it, although I might change to (mirror) glass later. This bed with its mountings now weight 6,2 kg. which is a lot, and the alloy tooling plate easily scratches and is expensive to replace.

The thing has pooped its first plastic last weekend, all axis are moving, the X and Y homing is done. I am currently waiting for the servo to arrive on which I will fit the Z-axis switch. I could fit an inductive sensor while I still have the tooling plate bed, but I bought one which arrived faulty (or I messed up, I don’t really know) and with my glass bed desires in the future I thought I’d go the micro switch / servo route.