Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CoreXY Enclosure, frame, and tips Questions.

Posted by Qdeathstar 
CoreXY Enclosure, frame, and tips Questions.
March 11, 2017 11:32AM
Hi,

I am looking to build a core XY using this design:

[www.thingiverse.com]

I have a few questions.

1) It uses printed parts for the frame. Are their suitable metal corners that I could use instead, and are they worth the extra cost? I know for delta's getting the frame right is crucial. I also see that it uses cheap bearings with deldrin wheels. However, the open builds store offers premium polycarbonate wheels with bearings. Are those worth paying 3x the cost for? Finally it uses aliexpress-special lead screws, is there a great difference in quality? Which lead screws would you recommend.

2) For cutting extrusions, I have a table saw with a non-ferrous metal blade. But, how accurate do the cuts need to be? Im a novice at cutting. Would it be significantly better to have the extrusions cut at a machining shop if I suspect my tolerances if I cut them would be between 2-3mm?

3) It looks like the stepper motors would be inside any enclosure I designed to build. How have people dealt with that in the past?

4) I have plenty of 1.8 stepper motors. For a coreXY are .9 steppers worth the extra cost? (eg, having to buy them vs having them on hand)

Also, any other things you think I should know! Thanks grinning smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/11/2017 11:36AM by Qdeathstar.
Re: CoreXY Enclosure, frame, and tips Questions.
March 11, 2017 01:59PM
I've just finished the build of the same printer, but ( like many others ) have started to replace a few parts right away.
Especially the printed corner brackets don't make sense. I ordered metal corners in two different sizes instead.

1) The wheels will both do their job, but I've chosen to replace them with mgn12 linear rails. Therefor I had to redesign a few printed parts.