Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Maryland RepRapper

Posted by Garrett 
New Maryland RepRapper
March 01, 2011 01:06PM
Hello everyone,

As you can see I have just joined this forum. I discovered the reprap (and 3D printing in general) a couple of weeks ago. I still can't believe that it has taken so long for me to discover this wonderful project. I've been doing AutoCAD for the past 6-7 years now and have gotten really skilled at working on 3D models... Well, now I want to be able to print out some of this stuff.

I intend to order parts to build a RepRap Mendel, in the next couple of days. But before I do that, I wanted to see if there is anybody in the Maryland region who is already printing these parts from their machine. Anything that I can get locally would be preferred, so it will help with the development of our local community of 3D printers.

I will gladly compensate anyone for their time, materials and effort if they have any of the parts for the Mendel and/or could print me the parts. But it looks like I'm going to have to order most of the hardware/electronics off of the internet. So please, if you have any connections to parts and/or printers laying around, let me know so that they can be put to good use.

On another note, does anybody know of any other events of meetups that may be happening sometime soon? Also, have conference calls ever been considered? They can be great for arranging actual meet-ups and seminars.

Peace,

The Excited Noob
Re: New Maryland RepRapper
March 03, 2011 06:15PM
Hi Garrett,

Welcome to the community! I wish you luck in getting your RepRap sourced and working! Unfortunately I don't have much time to print out Mendel parts these days, but I do know of some upcoming events you may be interested in.

Baltimore Node has formed a MakerBot users group that will be hosting a B'more/DC RepRap meetup later this month. We're having an informal kickoff meeting tonight to discuss it:

[baltimorenode.org]