Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie in the DC area...

Posted by Insomniak68 
Newbie in the DC area...
January 26, 2009 10:23PM
I'm fairly new to the RepRap project, and I'm attempting to build what amounts to a darwin style RepStrap, and I've managed to confused myself considerably in regards to the electronics used to control the device. As best I can decypher the project is in the middle of transitioning from V2 to V3 of the electronics and as such the RRRF has switched to stocking mostly the new boards and I can't seem to piece together the information I need from the wiki. I'm wondering if anyone would mind exchanging a little information with me to help me complete the construction of my RepStrap.

As a bit about my modifications to the project, mostly I'm building the Catesian Robot in a considerably beefed up way to enable higher-torque tool heads (A milling head is of equal concern to me as the Thermoplastic head.). The bot is being constructed from a combination of tubular and 90 deg angle steel, with the primary structure welded together. This moves toward a construction that requires additional skills, but offers the bonus of substantially increased strength while allowing an overall larger work space for the tool-heads.

I intend to drive the device with a Sanguino, and eventually plan to integrate a GumStix Single Board Computer with the device to offer a complete stand-alone machine. I also intend to document and openly release all of the work I put in, though it is mostly a re-hashing of information collected from countless sources online.

My biggest question currently, is trying to sort out which of the components who's PCBs are avaliable through RRRF are best to use for the device? Is it necessary for me to order the PCBs through a fabrication service or can I complete a machine with what Zach is selling?