Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament Extruder - 10K

Posted by lizhavlin 
Filament Extruder - 10K
September 20, 2015 04:14PM
Hello - my name is Liz Havlin and I have been working on an extruder project since October 2013.

Although there are many designs out there already, and I have spent lots of $$$ to develop yet more designs, the world is in need of an easy to put together kit for a basic filament extruder.

I would like to start over and have someone develop an extruder that makes filament as the same speed as you can feed into your 3D printer.

The extruder needs to be able to be controlled by a port on on the 3D printer board and use open source software.

We are starting with Black ABS, which will come to you pelletized.

These pellets are made from recycled Auto Bumper.

I am located in Seattle, WA USA - and I am open to anyone in the world who wants to work on this.

I can offer funds upon completion and also equity in my start up company.

You can see our website at www.prototypeamerica.com
Re: Filament Extruder - 10K
October 11, 2015 10:11AM
Can I make a few remarks?

Most extruders (if not all) can extruder faster then the max. printer speed. Letting the extruder "follow" the intake need of the 3d printer thus including acceleration, retract and stopping will make it impossible to get consistent filament width. So feeding directly into the 3 printer without any spool winding/unwinding mechanism that allows for a buffer of filament is (IMHO) impossible. If your goals is to stop using filament but use pellets then you need to find a way to build a hotend that uses pellets as it's source. In other industries those systems already exist but cost an arm and leg smiling smiley Like pressurized hotends feed by plastic from a meltpot reservoir.