Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3d printing magazine?

Posted by pdesigns 
Re: 3d printing magazine?
January 03, 2013 04:40AM
Hi,

I'm a fan of digital photography magazines. Sure would like to see something like 3D magazines.

January 03, 2013 11:52PM
I am new to reprap and have some experience with powder printing, laser cutting and CNC mills. I have to admit that reprap is intimidating in then eyes of a newb. Not only is the wiki difficult to navigate, but there are so many options out there. I would like to see (or would write) a segment on the community, selecting, and building a printer. A segment in each issue would be nice for people new to the printing world and would be especially helpful when looking at back issues in the future. For those of you with more experience it would hopefully give insight on difficulties had by the newcomers and possibly lead to a more organized/new user friendly community.

Some other things I would like to see are comparisons and details on individual parts. One issue could be linear motion solutions (skate bearings, lmuu, bushings, self lubricating plastics,ext). Another issue could be threaded rod vs leads crews. This could compare the differences between popular parts as well as give important details on each for the software end (rotations per in travel etc).
January 21, 2013 03:35PM
I sure like the idea of a magazine (e-zine), and while I like to read some articles in print, especially if they are a tutorial or guide to building something, online mags give you the ability of imbedded videos. Something printed mags can't touch. And when you're trying to replicate some ones instructions exactly, video is often the only way.... Great idea, can't wait to see the 1st issue. Any time table on that?

in beautiful southern, Maryland...
I just joined this discussion today, but I would love to contribute. I have an MFA in Writing from CalArts, edit an online publication, and have been published in a few places.