Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Possible reasons for extruder getting clogged

Posted by keyaren 
Possible reasons for extruder getting clogged
August 10, 2014 12:04PM
hello,
i am new to 3d printing and have a mendel90. been playing around with it and have been trying to sort out a good quality print.
it used to print fairly decent quality prints when i first bought it. i did notice the bed levelling was a bit off as the filament was not sticking to the bed at 2 corners. i tried levelling the bed and in the process, i ended up making the situation worse, and i also got the extruder clogged. trying to sort that problem, i ended up breaking the thermistor and eventually bought a new e2d-v6 hotend. i have altered the z position on the firmware and that is correct i think (as the extruder does not crash into the bed anymore). the bed levelling is also correct at the moment (done as per nophead's guide and advice given by e3d-online).

at the same time when all these things were getting sorted, i also bought PLA filament on ebay for like £14. it is a chinese product, but purchased from UK. visually, filament quality looked fine. i also measured the thickness with a digital vernier at various points on the filament and it was perfect 3mm dia. the filament itself was kind of a matt finish which was quite different from the faberdashery silky finish which i had earlier.
trying to use this new PLA filament, i ended up clogging the extruder again. removed it and managed to clean it thoroughly, and set up again. but the extruder has got clogged again. the temperature setting i am using just now - 200C for extruder and 90C for bed. (noticed it wasnt working at 185C and 60C as suggested for PLA).

what could be the reasons for the clogging?

advice please.
Re: Possible reasons for extruder getting clogged
August 10, 2014 12:30PM
Here is a guide to extruder problems: [e3d-online.com] .