Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Lost connection

Posted by Fabiano 
Lost connection
May 03, 2012 02:02PM
Hi.

I am new to reprap and just 2 days ago finished building my prusa mendel.

I am having 2 issues that are stopping me from printing anything:

1. The softwares disconects from my printer when I am trying to move a motor, sometimes is the 1st click to move 10mm and sometimes it moves all motors ok but when I sent a model for dry run it does some movement and stops. I am not able to do even a 1x1x1cm cube dry run print all the way to the end. If I unplug say the Z motors it seems to do the job.

2. I also cannot get the Heater to work. When I try to turn the Heat On the red LED flashes and the printer disconnects.

Any suggestions?

This are my specs at the moment:
* Prusa Mendel
* Generation 6 Elec.
* Latest Repetier firmware and Host for MAC (0.16)
* Z motors wired on parallel
* Baudrate 250000

Thanks in advance.
F.
Re: Lost connection
May 03, 2012 03:39PM
Your setup is exactly the one I used to develop the software, so it should work with minimal changes like steps per mm.

From your description I guess your power connection is not stable. Every time you draw more current you seem to loose connection. You should have a closer look at the log output. If you see a start after your connection loss, the hardware did a reset for some reason. That normally
happens if your voltage goes below a certain treshhold.

Repetier-Software - the home of Repetier-Host (Windows, Linux and Mac OS X) and Repetier-Firmware.
Repetier-Server - the solution to control your printer from everywhere.
Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!
May 03, 2012 04:23PM
Thanks for the reply.

I have a felling is a power shortage as well, but I cannot figure it out.
My power supply is a brand new ATX 200W and the voltage is 12V solid.
Also all the TP1, TP2, TP3 and TP4 little dials on the board are all set on the middle.

Do you think I could increase the power input above 12V?