Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Leaving out internal perimeters

Posted by Assax 
Leaving out internal perimeters
June 28, 2016 06:11PM
Hello everybody,

I am new to 3D printing and have a question about Slic3r for which I could not find an answer.
I have a model with a tube inside it and exported the model itself and the tube seperately.
Is it possible to print the model containing the tube (the outer model) with external perimeters but not internal ones, e.g. on the inside around the tube?
I know it is possible to leave out perimeters entirely, though that is not what is needed.

What I have tried to do is make a little bigger clone of the object for which I need the outer perimeters and hollow it with booleans, however depending on the model the boolean modifiers screw up pretty badly, at least in blender.

I hope the question is somewhat clear eye rolling smiley

Thanks in advance for your replies!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/28/2016 06:16PM by Assax.
Re: Leaving out internal perimeters
June 28, 2016 06:29PM
You could try using OpenSCAD to modify your STL file with unions, intersections etc to create a single STL model which has the features you need all in one.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/28/2016 06:30PM by Mikk36.
June 29, 2016 06:02AM
Yes, it sounds like the problem needs to be solved by modifying the STL rather than in the slicer. As Mikk36 has said, OpenScad (free) is a good tool to do that. If you upload the STL and exactly what you wish to achieve I am sure that myself or someone else will be able to supply suitable OpenScad code and a brief tutorial that will get you running.

Dave
June 29, 2016 12:34PM
I don't think you're understanding. The OP wants to omit the perimeters on the periphery of the hole in the part so the infill goes all the way to the edge of the hole without omitting the exterior perimeters. Slic3r doesn't have that functionality. I can think of a couple off workarounds...