Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Slic3r config file version compatibility

Posted by christopherw 
Slic3r config file version compatibility
April 04, 2016 01:14PM
Dear, since this is my first post on the forum, a very short introduction: I'm successfully gaining knowledge about and 3D printing for almost a year with a Fabtotum. I studied aerospace engineering and am employed as test engineer in the space industry.

Most of the time I'm slicing my objects with slic3r which I appreciate the most. After I managed to fix my issues with my computer I installed the latest version of Slic3r (version 1.2.9).

While trying to import my older config files I noticed they can't be loaded. Does anybody know an easy way to get these old files imported?

Next to the above main issue; Is there a method to create a config file based on the footer of a gcode file?
Re: Slic3r config file version compatibility
April 04, 2016 04:41PM
Slic3r 1.2.9 did import my old config files. But for about 6 months I was unable to use slic3r because it kept crashing. It only became usable last week when I deleted the entire slic3r settings folder and started again.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
April 05, 2016 02:18AM
Thanks dc42, this evening I will give it a try.

Yesterday I successfully managed(manually so it took a while) to write a config file in such manner that slic3r won't crash on import.

Unfortunately it didn't pick most of the settings I wrote, so maybe your suggestion will help to fix this.
April 09, 2016 11:20AM
Well after fidling around with import, export back and fort it is a bit of a strugle.

There are several conditions to meet if you want persisting settings on importing them.
- you should have run the configuration wizard once