Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

1.2.8 experimental

Posted by wolfend 
1.2.8 experimental
June 09, 2015 05:50PM
Anyone tried this yet? This new feature sounds interesting:

•New experimental autospeed feature that chooses speeds automatically in order to keep volumetric speed and nozzle pressure constant; just set all speeds to 0 to enable it
Re: 1.2.8 experimental
June 09, 2015 10:33PM
Sounds great...but how does it detect the nozzle pressure?
June 10, 2015 11:54AM
I doubt it detects it, but rather calculates it.

FYI- it does not appear that the Linux tarball version was built with the GUI included. I had to build from source on Ubuntu, which went fine (I am far from a Linux expert).
June 10, 2015 12:28PM
I guess I am thinking that it would need some kind of feedback in order to get the fastest speeds with the best print quality.
June 10, 2015 12:48PM
Nozzle pressure will be related to extruder speed and nozzle size, therefore it can be calculated. But the exact pressure is not necessary to know, just the limiting extruder speed will do. If the limiting factor for print speed is the extruder capability (i.e. the extruder skips if the speed is too high), just a set limit (which can be found by experimentation) on the extruder speed. The software then calculates the fastest move speeds that will result in the limiting extruder speed being reached based on the move length and amount of extrusion required. That means that thin extrusion widths and small layer heights will print faster than wider extrusion widths and coarser layer heights.

I use only 2 different widths (perimeter & infill), and have found by experimentation what maximum speed I can have for the perimeter and infill for the two layer heights I use (0.2mm and 0,25mm), and thus just have two profiles that will have the same effect as that automatic method.

Dave
June 10, 2015 05:16PM
Ok, that makes a lot more sense now. Thank you for taking the time to explain it to me.