Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Any way to get the angle between layers?

Posted by Thedudeabides 
Any way to get the angle between layers?
February 25, 2015 10:46AM
Hello. I am a uni student that has limited expierience in coding (basic course in C, really basic course in C++).

I, and my group, have been tasked with improving a concrete 3d printer. To achieve this we need the angles between the layers in the z axis. I tried writing a different program that modifies the g-code that slic3r spits out, and this works decently, however it seems that the points slic3r gives me is in the middle of the layer (as opposed to lower limit of the layer eg. z= 0 and upper limit of the layer eg. z = 10mm, it gives me the midlle of the layer z= 5mm).
This means that the calculated angles between points don't really correspond to the real angles unless the angle is constant. There is also the problem that with this setup, the final layer will have no angle (as there is no referen point on the next layer, that does not exist).

So my question is the following: Is there any way that slic3r can give me the angles between the bottom point, and top point of a layer, or alternatively, the top and bottom points on a layer (x&y values, the z values seem to already be found in the g-code).

If this is not possible, could I have a couple of pointers to how I could achieve this if I modify the code by myself (my c++ skills are limited...).

PS. I might have misunderstood the g-code and it actually gives me the bottom layer (eg. z= 0). This does still leave the problem that the last layer will have no angle as there is no reference point.

//uni dude
Re: Any way to get the angle between layers?
February 25, 2015 12:21PM