Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z-alignment for STL export after doing Cuts

Posted by jmont723 
Z-alignment for STL export after doing Cuts
January 21, 2015 05:15AM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to 3D printing and modeling in general and I'm having some problems getting Slic3r to do exactly what I want it to. I have what should be a pretty common use case: I'd like to use Slic3r to take large models and cut them up into more wieldable/printable pieces that I can export as a single STL file for later printing. The view/cut tool built into the program seemed perfect for doing this really quickly, but I'm running into an issue where the separate parts never end up aligned along the Z axis after cuts are made. This results in one or more pieces always seemingly "floating" off of the print bed when I try to make use of the STL file afterwards. Here's an example:

3D model for slicing/cutting (Kirito's Elucidator from Sword Art Online):
[imgur.com]

STL generated file from Slic3r after cutting the model into two pieces(side view):
[imgur.com]

As you can see, the cut was made without any issues but the bottom of the two pieces are never aligned in the Z-plane.

I'm using the option to rotate the lower piece so that the flat end faces the print bed, but it doesn't seem to have an impact on how the pieces are aligned. Hitting "arrange" doesn't seem to have any effect on it either.

I can use another program to line everything up but it would be great just to do everything quickly in Slic3r and get a neatly generated print plate for larger objects. I feel like I'm missing a setting or configuration item but I can't seem to figure out what it is. Any advice on the best way to do this would be really appreciated.

Thank you so much,
jmont
Re: Z-alignment for STL export after doing Cuts
January 21, 2015 08:11AM
I suspect that Slic3r is automatically centering each slice on the build plate.