Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

parts overlapping the initial outside border generated

Posted by wmcb 
parts overlapping the initial outside border generated
January 10, 2015 07:23PM
I'm new to slic3r and 3d printing in general, so I dont know all the right terminology so please bear with me.

When I add stl files to slic3r, sometimes the initial outside pass that slic3r does around all objects (Is this the "skirt?") will intersect with a part or more. Its as if the outer area does not account for parts accurately.

When the outside line is printed and then a part is attempted to print in the same area, either the part's height becomes uneven because of the existing layer where it is trying to print or subsequent passes end up pulling the part off of the bed due to uneven heights.

Attached is a picture of the generated pathing with the problematic outside pass that intersects with actual objects.

Is there a way to manually define the outside pass' pathing or at least keep it away from parts? And is it possible to disable this entirely, or would that be a bad idea?

Outside path intersecting with parts
Re: parts overlapping the initial outside border generated
January 12, 2015 09:25AM
You can disable the skirt in "Print Settings"/"Skirt and Brim" by setting the number of loops to zero. If you do that you will probably need to extrude a bit of plastic in your start code after all temperatures have been reached immediately before printing to get it flowing. As regards the issue, check that the objects to be printed are definitely all within the bed area as defined in Slic3r's printer settings. You could try experimenting by changing the skirt's "distance from object" in case it is a bug that occurs only at specific distances.

Dave
January 12, 2015 08:24PM