Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

No solid top and bottom layers

Posted by EmailGuy 
No solid top and bottom layers
August 11, 2014 03:12PM
I'm pretty new to 3D printing but I'm making progress.

I have my printer setup and printing pretty well, but I have one issue.

When I create an object in FreeCAD, export it to an STL, slice it with slic3r, and print it, the top and bottom layers are not solid, they are the infill pattern. The attached CAD picture is what I expected the part to look like. The other picture is what I got. You can see the solid perimeter on the outside and inside, but there was not solid layer on the bottom or top. The recessed part in the middle should be half the depth of the part. As you can see, the middle area is all crossing infill with no solid layers at all.

The part is supposed to be 25 MM x 25 MM x 5 MM with a recessed area of 15 mm x 15 mm x 2.5 mm.

I cannot find any settings in slic3r to control the top and bottom of a part. I would think those are considered perimeters, but it's not treating them that way.

I also attached the STL and gcode files to this message.

3D Printer: Reprap Original Mendel with RAMPS 1.4 electronics, j-head MK V-BV 0.4MM extruder, Wade's geared extruder, setup for 1.75MM filament
Attachments:
open | download - 25 MM Box.jpg (479.2 KB)
open | download - 25 MM Box CAD.JPG (17.3 KB)
open | download - 25 MM Box.stl (2 KB)
open | download - 25 MM Box.gcode (87.3 KB)
Re: No solid top and bottom layers
August 13, 2014 02:31AM
Your model is the problem, not the slicer.

August 13, 2014 07:42AM
I have no idea how you did this in FreeCAD (or indeed how you even sliced that .STL file!) but is this what you're trying to do?:

Attachments:
open | download - 25mm box (corrected).stl (3.4 KB)
August 13, 2014 10:07AM