Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PLA gets stuck in extruder during print ...

Posted by timeforprunejuice 
PLA gets stuck in extruder during print ...
February 23, 2017 12:34PM
Hi Folks,

I'm sure this is a common issue, but I didn't find the solution. I'm new to printing and I've got a RepRap Wilson II (Prusa). I've leveled the bed using feeler guages and I have a PEI heated bed. My first layer sticks and the print starts out fairy well. One big issue is that I'm using PLA and I print in my laundry room, and it is raining ... No kidding - so I may have a moisture problem ...

I'm printing Makerbot red PLA at 215 degrees with a E3D6 Lite hot end ...

The problem is that the print starts out great. Then, the filament stops extruding during printing ... I pause the print job, manually pull out the filament and cut ~10cm off, reinstall the filament and continue printing. It keeps printing after this process ... Once the filament stops extruding, I can't force it to extrude by pushing on the filament. I can even see the extruder stepper working ...

Do you have any suggestions? Moisture? Bad filament? Other?

Thank you,

TF Prunejuice

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2017 12:34PM by timeforprunejuice.
Re: PLA gets stuck in extruder during print ...
February 28, 2017 09:53PM