Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ugly looking bottom layer and stringing

Posted by 3D 
3D
Ugly looking bottom layer and stringing
February 06, 2017 05:07AM
I print on a heated glass bed with PLA and my prints get a nasty looking bottom layer, its not shiny in some places and it seems to be the glue stick that leaves this non shiny bottom surface and it cant be washed away?
Also i get streaks in the bottom layer from stringing as well as edges that are missing some material , the missing material happens not only in the corners but also along the edges, i guess that is maybe from the curling happening when the print is not attached good enough to the bed?

What is the problem and solution for these issues? Im a total newbie.

I guess the stringing can be fixed with the right settings in retraction. But what are good settings for retraction speed and retraction distance? I have been trying 4-5 mm and a retraction speed of around 40.

And about the Z-hop function in cura, i cant seem to find that function in Cura? Im using Latest Cura for Mac.

Any help and suggestions is higly appriciated. Thanks in advance.
Re: Ugly looking bottom layer and stringing
February 06, 2017 07:19PM
Hi there, maybe post a picture so we can see whats going on.

Also simplify3D has a great troubleshooting guide, even if you don't use the software is a good starting point for most common issues.

[www.simplify3d.com]
February 07, 2017 08:00AM
Im not an expert with PLA but I don't think it needs a heated bed. Might be worth leaving it off so it doesn't affect your glue.
Your retraction settings are reasonable for a Bowden tube extruder. If you extruder is a direct type then set retraction to about 1mm? Be careful of having too much retraction as it can cause clogging.
A bit more info would be useful - and pictures. What temperatures are you running.
Have you levelled the bed and calibrated the motors?
3D
February 11, 2017 07:46AM