Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Perimeter bonding problem on concave perimeters

Posted by Inhumierer 
Perimeter bonding problem on concave perimeters
January 13, 2017 03:56PM
Hi, I'm printing ABS on a Mendel90 at temp. 244, small or visible perimeters at 30 mm/s. After playing around with various numbers I'm mostly satisfied with my print quality, except concave perimeters get no good bonding to the rest of the object, especially small holes for screws or similar look messy. Any more experienced 3D printer expert got an idea? Would be really appreciated, as I'm very new to this kind of stuff.

Re: Perimeter bonding problem on concave perimeters
January 14, 2017 09:41PM
Which slicer are you using, and are you setting the extrusion width manually or not? The small holes are fairly typical, I normally live with it and clean them out with a drill, but the larger U-shape does seem a bit off.
January 15, 2017 02:36AM
I've been using Slic3r 1.29 for now, and after some more reading wikis etc. I read that Slic3r has (had?) a problem if the extrusion width is set to "auto", so I changed it to be 0.4mm - my nozzle width. It didn't really change a lot. After some more reading I changed the layer heigth from 0.3mm to 0.2mm. Things improved, but of course printing time shoots up through the roof. It got somewhat better, but not really good. It may have something to do with filament quality. After maybe 10 or 12 hours of printing and testing I noticed the small holes getting better, without changing a parameter really. Right now I switched Slic3r back to 0.3mm klayer heigth, I want to see if the small holes get worser again.
And yes, I read that in certain conditions Cura has less problems with small holes, so I'll try Cura later this weekend.
Thank you for your suggestions!