Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prints warping and coming off bed

Posted by Hedgehog 
Prints warping and coming off bed
January 12, 2017 05:41PM
I am currently using blue painters tape (3M) and a 60 degree C heating bed, which I have found gives best results. I have read online that painters tape is best without heating, but it just won't adhere! I am trying to regulate my ambient temp at around 25. I am currently trying to print square pillars to support my PLA filament roll, and since it has to be tall, I have found that the nozzle sort of rubs against the pillar, making it fall off... so I decreased PLA extruded, but then it became really weak. I have also noticed warping ON THE PRINT!!!??? Every few mm or so, I see some lifted corners (tiny gaps) that are weak spots. I am using the PLA given to me with the printer (I am a newbie that does a lot of research), wondering whether it's my filament's problem? It's 1.75 mm, the nozzle is 0.4 mm, and my model is prusa i3 electron. Btw I'm 99% sure my height (nozzle to platform) good.
Can anyone recommend me some good filling shapes? I'm using the default honeycomb, I can't find anything about what each filling pattern is good for and their pros and cons.

Also, does anyone have any reprapchampion.com discount codes? And where can I get those puny tiny little allen keys (really REALLY REALLY small)?
Re: Prints warping and coming off bed
January 12, 2017 05:59PM
My advice is to use 3dLac

this is a spray-on solution that sticks wehen hot and releases when cold. It works ok on Glass and even better on aluminium.
Warping with PLA seems impossible.

I use 3Dlac on 80 degrees centigrade bed. You can not tear stuff off when hot. It takes off when cold.

www.3daybreaker.blogspot.com

Orca V4.4 rebuild to Ramps with Mk8 and E3D, as well as a Rostock Delta Mini and an OLO in backorder :-)
January 12, 2017 07:01PM