Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stepper motor issue on X,Y,Z - can't find problem

Posted by elkell 
Stepper motor issue on X,Y,Z - can't find problem
January 02, 2017 03:11PM
I have a very odd problem

A few months ago, I had to replace my Ramps 1.4 board - I melted the electronics from a poor connection to the heat bed.

I replaced the Ramps 1.4 board and got ArduinoMega just in case it also got damaged. With the new hardware, I reflashed an old sprinter firmware that I have been using for two years without fail. The issue is the motors have gone screwy. They will jump in big steps or just hum in place. The steppers seem fine though: I can run this test code just fine. I added a new stepper and new motor anyway, it is exhibiting the same problem
Stepper pots are tuned nicely to ~0.41 V, they turn no problem with the test code - nice and smooth

Tried two USB cables - same problem

Installed Retpetier-Host and it exhibits the same behaviour. Tried Marlin firmware, getting the same issues.

If I turn the steps/mm way down in the firmware the motors do better (from 100 steps to 15), but still act strangely. I'm essentially getting no smooth movement, really jerky action on all the motors, or inconsistent number of steps, or it just sits there and buzzes.

Heat bed, hot end, end-stops all working fine. Any suggestions? Could my power supply be causing this?
Re: Stepper motor issue on X,Y,Z - can't find problem
January 02, 2017 04:08PM
Did you forget to put the jumpers for microstepping under the drivers?
January 02, 2017 04:09PM
What version of marlin are you using ?
January 07, 2017 02:19PM
O_Lampe - Not sure what you mean about the jumpers. I didn't require jumpers before, at least I don't think I did.

Obewan - Marlin 1.0.2-2

Still haven't gotten anywhere with this... I'm pretty much out of ideas :/
January 07, 2017 03:28PM
elkell
O_Lampe - Not sure what you mean about the jumpers. I didn't require jumpers before, at least I don't think I did.