Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS print lifting

Posted by TonyPagett 
ABS print lifting
December 14, 2016 05:56PM
I am new to 3d printing and have successfully printed several small items.
Today I printed a large item and all was going fine for about an hour. Suddenly at around 10mm thick, the piece started to shrink on all four corners. The current layer stayed flat at all times and printed perfectly but as the piece got thicker the edges shrank more and more.
As the item was printed up side down, I now have a perfectly flat bottom face and a very curved top face.
The item varies from 22mm to 15mm in thickness but should be 22mm all over!!

Prusa i3
Heated bed (100 deg)
Kapton tape with Abs juice
Re: ABS print lifting
December 14, 2016 06:02PM
With that bed temperature you must have been printing ABS. Did you remember to turn the print cooling fan off ? ABS does not like being cooled quickly.

Were you printing with 100% infill ? If so could you reduce this? The higher the infill the more the contraction forces.
December 14, 2016 06:06PM
Here's something the marketing department doesn't tell you about your i3 or any other open frame printer: you can't actually print anything but very small parts using ABS. As soon as your ABS print gets any height/bulk, it will warp and delaminate unless you enclose the printer and keep the enclosed area warm (45-50C). If you don't do that, forget about printing ABS.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
December 14, 2016 06:54PM
Yes it was Abs
The fan is not on and the thickness was set to 15%
The maximum wall thickness is 3mm

What I don't understand is the fact that all was fine for about an hour then it all went wrong. The bed temp was still the same
December 14, 2016 07:49PM
How tall was the print though.
I find anything above 2" on my open i3 warps and cracks. Im hoping to switch to a coreXY setup that is enclosed to print ABS better.
December 14, 2016 08:05PM