Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

y-axis calibration

Posted by larryhartman50 
y-axis calibration
November 11, 2016 11:11PM
I am new to 3D printing. I have RepRap Prusa i3 kit, with Marlin and Repetier software. I went through a somewhat laborious process of aligning the bed so that it is perfectly square with each axis. This was triple checked with carpenter's square.

I have an issue where only one of the six surfaces is not parallel to the corresponding plane. The surface is normal to the y-axis closest to rear of the printer. It seems to be leaning to the rear as the print gets higher, perhaps by about 0.5 degrees. The front surface is square.

Another issue is that one of the corners on the x-y plane (looking down) is slightly elongated where the print head moves from inside perimeter to outside perimeter on each layer.

I suspect that both issues are symptomatic of the same problem--perhaps y-axis speed, acceleration, or torque are the culprits? Solution seems to be in electronics or software at this point.

I have attached a picture that depicts these concerns. Help is greatly appreciated. I am using the printer to build precision parts for college physics research project.

Larry
Attachments:
open | download - REPRAP_iPrusa_Calibration.jpg (599.3 KB)
Re: y-axis calibration
November 20, 2016 10:56PM
well my printer is bolted to a board that has leveling feet and all rods on all axes leveled both z rods same height and bed as close as possible to level all belts need to be tight and all steps/mm set right may require frame to be readjusted. if you have access to machinist level all the better or a dial indicator
November 21, 2016 05:36AM
I found the yz-plane culprit. Y-axis stepper motor set screw came loose and fell out. It was only until the one screw holding the pulley on and the error getting really bad was I able to figure it out. The other was caused by the Z start point set to begin at same spot on the model with each layer.