Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

printer goes crazy during print.

Posted by duffle1986 
printer goes crazy during print.
May 26, 2016 04:40AM
So I am new to 3D printing. this is my first build and first print. I am trying to print a 3D test cube and it starts off working great. I have tried 2 attempts now and at the seventh layer (on both attempts) my y axis for whatever reason heads back towards the end stop and ignores it. The motor keeps going until I kill the print. I re-sliced the image on the second attempt and the same thing happened. I went through the layers to check and make sure that it didn't show the travel going off in that direction. It all seems fine. Would trying to print from an sd card solve it? Any help would be appreciated.

The software/Firmware I am using is:
Marlin v1
Reptier-Host v1.00 RC2
Slic3r V 1.2.9

Also another question that I have and hopefully an easy fix is that this cube I am trying to print measures 40mm X 40mm X 40mm and so far the base that I was able to print is 50mm X 50mm. Is that something that I would have to fix in the firmware?
Re: printer goes crazy during print.
May 26, 2016 05:25AM
What printer do you have?
May 26, 2016 05:52AM
It is a MendleMax 1.5 using a printrboard rev. D
May 26, 2016 08:35AM
Open your gcode and see the instructions your slicer set for that layer, sounds like a corrupted gcode.
May 26, 2016 08:38AM
Silcer in combination with the host software can produce some unwanted side effects every now and then.
If the above is of no help try a different version of Slic3r or just change the layer height slightly to check for changes.
For me these "hickups" usually happen when the printer is running very slow, so a slight increase in speed could be considered too.
May 26, 2016 03:38PM