Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS warping solved (I think)

Posted by PixelPusher 
ABS warping solved (I think)
May 16, 2016 09:03AM
Hey guys, warping probably will never be completely solved with RepRaps, but I did find a solution that has helped me tremendously. I added "tabs" to corners and ends of my model. The "tabs" (see pic) act as a sort of anchor and more surface area to keep model attached to heat bed. The bigger the tabs you make, the better chances of it sticking.
Keeping the thickness to at least 2mm seems to work, and still thin enough to clip off with basic hand cutting tools. Notice I have small/thin notched areas for easy clipping.

I'm still new to printing so this solution has probably been used many times, but searching for warping solutions has led me down wrong paths (sticky messy glues, rafts that don't work well). One tip I found works well is reducing model mass by adding holes/notches... but that's normally not an option simply because of cosmetics or functionality of desired print results.

Anyway, wanted to throw this out in hopes it will help someone out (it made my printing life so much more enjoyable!) plus, it has saved me TONS of time and plastic because of many fewer test prints and warp problems. I don't have a specific system of size/area of "tabs" i build, just go off of feeling, and looking at my model and thinking: if my entire model wants to shrink, what areas would most likely lift off the print bed first.

Please let me know if this helps you out, or anyone has any criticism or improvements... I"m all ears!

-PixelPusher

***note: I used this method along with spraying a paper towel with a little hairspray, then rubbing onto the bed before heating. No tape used. Surface is a PCB heatbed. Have not tried on glass but imagine results would be same.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/16/2016 09:11AM by PixelPusher.
Attachments:
open | download - printing tip.jpg (96 KB)
Re: ABS warping solved (I think)