Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cant get my printer to work

Posted by wardy1010 
Cant get my printer to work
May 01, 2016 06:54AM
Hi I'm new to 3D printing and had my printer set up for a couple days now and i cant for the life of me get anything to print.

The material (ABS) just wont stick to the print bed at all. i have tried hair spray, blue tape, just glass, different temperatures, ect.
Just wondering if i am doing anything wrong as I'm a newbie

my printer is a prusa i3 with heated bed and 1.75 abs filament

This is a video of what the printer is doing when i click print

[youtu.be] -EDIT updated video link

Can anyone help? i have not been able to get 1 print off yet

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/01/2016 08:08AM by wardy1010.
Re: Cant get my printer to work
May 01, 2016 07:49AM
Might help to upload the video where people don't have to download it to watch...
May 01, 2016 07:55AM
download to slow, to watch.

P3steel DXL, with Due/RADDS/Raps128 dual Wade's extruder
May 01, 2016 07:59AM
sorry i thought you would be able to watch from that link... i will upload to a different location - EDIT - New link has been placed in original post

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/01/2016 08:09AM by wardy1010.
May 01, 2016 08:46AM
Can't really say by the video but my best guess is that the first layer height is not correct.
When doing the first layer the nozzle should be at layer height over the bed, to me it looks like yours is way higher.
And I would try with a lower speed for the first layer if I encounter adhesion problems too.
Having the right temperature also helps.
May 01, 2016 09:31AM