Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Inconsistent Extruding - Looking for advice

Posted by mrmatthorner 
Inconsistent Extruding - Looking for advice
April 24, 2016 05:17PM
Hello everybody, this is my first post here. I have been printing for a few years now, with my most recent addition of the prusa i3, it has great potential. This is my first printer with a large heated glass print bed. What I am seeing is gaps or holes in the prints. What appears to happen is that the filament stops extruding (or extrudes less than it should), yet the print head is still moving around as if everything is normal.

I've checked for clogs and jams, yet this problem occurs with all my prints somewhere during the course of the print (sometimes more frequently, sometimes less frequently). I've:
  • Replaced the nozzle, with no visible signs of improvement.
  • Changed filament and print settings (ie perimeter speeds, infill speeds, extrusion multiplier, again with no avail.
  • Rebuilt my spool and re-positioned it to prevent any additional drag when pulling filament in.
  • Disassembled the print carriage to ensure that the gears from the extruder servo were aligned with the filament hole on the top of the hot end.
  • Verified the set screw was tightened and that this gear was not freely spinning when trying to pull filament in.
  • I do use a dust mask to clean the filament before it enters the print carriage.
  • I have tried models sliced with both Slic3r (provided with Prusa drivers) as well as models sliced with Simplify3d. The same STL file prints perfectly on my makerbot replicator, but when sliced and printed on the Prusa suffer from was you see below.

I had thoroughly gone through the print troubleshooting pictorial guide to start troubleshooting, but no single picture seems to fit the symptoms I am seeing exactly. Basic print settings I have always used in the past with no issues, that I am again currently using now are:

• 215°c Extruder Temp