Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z Axis not moving during print

Posted by White.Renard 
Z Axis not moving during print
April 07, 2016 02:01PM
Hey,

I'm new to 3D printing and I've recently finished building my printer (Cherry 3D printer) and have been trying to fix it's problems, this one I could not figure out, so maybe you guys can help me out! grinning smiley

The problem is the Z axis does not move up after the printing starts. It DOES however move during homing and in manual control. This results in the everything getting printed on first layer...

I am using firmware Repetier 0.92 btw. And the driver currents are adjusted correctly. (0.12 mA, they are small steppers!)
The endstops are working correctly, they show low when endstops are not triggered and high when they are.

Z-axis Max Feedrate: 0.3 mm/s
Z-axis acceleration 5 mm/s^2
Z-axis travel acceleration 5 mm/s^2

Also, if and whenever I press "Emergency Stop" button to stop everything and then try to move the Z axis, it won't move.
I'll have to wait a few seconds for the non-existent Z movement (as if it's actually moving when it's not) to be finished and then the next Z movement commands work.

I've attached my EEPROM.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/08/2016 04:06AM by White.Renard.
Attachments:
open | download - My EEPROM.epr (3.6 KB)
Re: Z Axis not moving during print
April 08, 2016 07:17AM
I am thinking:-
Lack of current from the PSU to allow the steppers to operate at the same time as the hot end = unlikely.
Somewhere the z axis direction is inverted = when printing the steppers are trying to lower the hotend and it just sits on the z end stop.