Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer wont extrude filament. sad smiley

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Printer wont extrude filament. sad smiley
April 06, 2016 08:23AM
Hello!

I am fairly new to RepRap 3D printers and have recently purchased and assembled a Senhai Prusa I3 SH802M printer, along with 1 kg of re1.75mm A.B.S filament.

All the motors and cooling fans seem to work and the thermistors show the heat bed and extruder as being at the right temperatures (235 degrees Celsius for the extruder and 100 degrees for the heat bed). They also feel hot when I put my hand near them.

However, I have noticed that whilst I can control the extruder position using the LCD display on the printer itself, and it feeds the filament when I do so, trying to use the manual controls on the Repitier software does not make the extruder position move or feed the filament at all. Furthermore, when I try to print, the extruder looks like it is trying to feed the filament, but gets to a point where it stops and starts clicking. No filament material comes out of the extruder at all. Pulling the filament out shows that it has little marks where the motor cog is pushing into it as it turns.

Does anybody know what the problem could be and how I could attempt to solve it please?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all, Billy.
Re: Printer wont extrude filament. sad smiley
April 06, 2016 08:42AM
The clicking is the extruder trying to push filament and not having enough torque to do so. This can be caused by your steps per mm on your extruder to be calibrated wrong, your idler spring set too tight or not enough voltage to the stepper itself. There are many guides on calibrating extruder steps per mm, but to start you may try halving your current value.

A thought occurs to me, do you have microstepping enabled? It's a simple matter of ground pins under the stepper drivers