Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing issues - HELP

Posted by dim131 
Printing issues - HELP
December 14, 2015 03:02PM
Hello to all,

I have a Prusa I3 3D printer and using Slic3r with the repetier host. I am having an issue of having defects in my prints at a particular layer. These defect are like as if the printer misses a perimeter or stops injecting the filament. Please note that this is only for one layer, then the prints continues flawlessly. Also, there are instances where if lets say I print the same part 3 times, I get this defect in 2 of them and then I ll get the other perfect. So that is no telling when and where this happens. All I know is that if it happens its in the same layer sad smiley.

I cannot say that I am Guru on 3D printing but neither I am a newbie. I had my printer for well over a year now and I have made alot of modifications to my printer. On the whole I get pretty much very good prints, apart from this issue that I am stating here.

I have prepared some images to show you this defect in various 3D prints, maybe some one already had this issue and can help me out in solving it. Please let me know if you need anything else, like example what slicer settings i have or the STL file itself.

I am sorry if the photo are not that good, but I had trouble focusing :p.
P.S - at the bottom where I am holding those 2 black disc, I have printed those together. And as you can see one is bad (left) and the other is how it suppose to be (right).

Help is appreciated.
Attachments:
open | download - 2015-12-14 20.18.221.jpg (249.7 KB)
Re: Printing issues - HELP
December 14, 2015 09:00PM
Hi,

I wonder if the problem is heat rather than the actual Z layer.