Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'm new to PLA. Please help me out here...

I'm new to PLA. Please help me out here...
November 17, 2015 07:50AM
My printer has been in the garage all summer because I print ABS which makes for some potentially unhealthy fumes, and because the machine is pretty loud. It's getting cold outside, so I just moved the printer back into my basement workroom which has no ventilation. I decided to try printing with PLA, hoping it might be a little less hazardous to my health.

No problem- I loaded the filament and it printed fine at 190C on a room temperature print bed covered with blue painter's tape. I got perfect results, as usual.

Then the trouble started. I decided to put a spool of ABS back on the machine. I heated up the extruder and retracted via the LCD panel and the PLA got stuck tight in the hot-end. For the first time since I put the hot-end and extruder on my printer last December, I had to take them apart to get the PLA filament out. What's the proper technique for changing filament with PLA?

Thanks!

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
Re: I'm new to PLA. Please help me out here...
November 17, 2015 08:18AM
I just cut it off, right above the cold end and feed the ABS through until the PLA is gone.
If possible at slightly lower temps to prevent the PLA from burning black.
Never actually tried removing the filament to get the new filament in.
November 17, 2015 09:29AM
That's not going to be good. There's no way for me to reach the entrance to the hot-end except to take the extruder off the machine then separate the extruder and hot-end. Ugh!

November 17, 2015 09:43AM
What might have happend is that the retract was so slow that the soft PLA hardened and formed a blockage befor it was completely free. If you have an option to release the idler and pull the filament by hand you might try that. If it is a bowden setup try to pull it through fast in one go.

[www.bonkers.de]