Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bottom of print is oversize and has a small lip

Posted by hercii 
Bottom of print is oversize and has a small lip
November 05, 2015 08:59PM
Hi,

I'm new to 3D printing and have been doing a lot of testing and tuning to get the printer working well. However I have one problem that I can't seem to fix. On any prints the base seems to be a bit wider than the rest of the print. In this image you should be ale to see the bottom 5 layers are sligtly oversize and gradually reducing in size. By 6th layer size is consistent. Measuring with calipers shows bottom is 2.06cm so 0.6mm oversize and by top box is 1.995cm so 0.05mm undersize

Printed ReprapPrusa I3, Repetier & Slic3r, Ubuntu 14.04. I get a similar problem slicing with Cura but it seems like just one layer is oversize.

Slic3r seems to do this deliberately as it visibly oversizes the first layer in print preview.
Cura doesn't show any oversize in print preview and the lip seems to be just the bottom layer.

I've tried adjusting tempertaure, speed, adding a little to Z offset but I can't seem to get rid of this. I haven't played with feed rate yet because everywhere else looks like feed is spot on.

Any suggetsions?

Thanks, Colin
Attachments:
open | download - 20151105_235423.jpg (101.3 KB)
Re: Bottom of print is oversize and has a small lip
November 05, 2015 09:01PM
on slic3r, there is a setting for first layer width. Try reducing that.
November 05, 2015 10:55PM