Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Inserting components in a print

Posted by hobby16 
Inserting components in a print
September 03, 2015 04:58PM
Hi all,
I am a beginner, I have started printing this week some samples on my brand new Prusa I3 (software : Repetier Host + Slic3r) which gives quite nice results.

My question is, and I am not sure to use the right words, how configure the slicer to generate code for prints that can include metallic nuts or pipes. The idea is to print half of the piece, pause the printer, then adding external parts like nuts, pipes or round on/off switches, then restart the printing to have those parts integrated into the print without having to glue them. Since they will be protruding before print completion, the slicer must generate paths that avoid areas higher than the head z level.
I have searched the Slic3r documentation but I can't find any functionnality to do that.
Is it at all possible to do such thing, maybe with Cura or other slicer ? Or am I just dreaming with impossible expectations ?
Re: Inserting components in a print
September 04, 2015 03:39AM
Cura has a "pause @ z " function, where you are able to stop the print, do your thing, and resume.
But the head will always move in the same z-plane, so the inserted part must not protrude above that plane.
-Olaf
September 04, 2015 10:36AM
I believe Slic3r also recently added a G4 command to pause the printer. Not positive though.

As for nuts, depending on the final design, I find it is better to heat up a soldering iron to melt the nut into the cavity provided for it then to mess with pausing the mid print and hoping everything fits.
September 04, 2015 10:51AM
Kurzaa
As for nuts, depending on the final design, I find it is better to heat up a soldering iron to melt the nut into the cavity provided for it then to mess with pausing the mid print and hoping everything fits.