Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Does Opto Endstops cause Ramps to go nuts?

Posted by nikko4913 
Does Opto Endstops cause Ramps to go nuts?
July 21, 2015 01:50PM
Hello.
I'm new to 3D printing, and i'm nearly done building my very own Prusa Mendel. I've got everything set up and currently i'm working on the endstops.
I've bought all the electronics(Ramps, Arduino, Endstops, Drivers, LCD screen and more) in an all-in-one package.

But i have a problem with the endstops. Most of the time they work perfectly, but sometimes, typically the day after(Without even touching the wires) ramps just goes nuts. The screen goes in low contast, the buzzer goes from buzzing to barely making a noise, and heating either the bed or nozzle takes longer time. Also some of the steppers do not respond when in this weird type of state. It all seems like there is a short, or at least something that makes the board loose a lot of power. Also, removing the plus-pin from especially the Z endstop(Don't know why) makes the printer go back to the correct state, and nothing seems wrong. But also removing either a X or Y plus-pin, helps, but only a little

So, instinctively i looked for any soldering bridges, but i found nothing that could cause a short there.
I've tried almost everything i could imagine, but after a few days, it does it again.

Does anyone know why this is and possibly how to fix it?
Any help is greatly accepted!

I've connected the endstops pins as advised on the endstop and on the main RAMPS board. You can see the connection to the board, in attached file IMG_1. The endstops from the left is: Min-X, Min-Y, Max-Z.
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_1.jpg (416.2 KB)
Re: Does Opto Endstops cause Ramps to go nuts?
July 21, 2015 03:51PM