Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

printing issue

Posted by gianni21 
printing issue
July 08, 2015 05:19AM
Hello guys I'm basically new to 3D Printing.
I bought a Prusa i3 which I assembled, but I'm getting stuck with a issue: I get poor quality prints.

In the picture attached you can see that the shape is quite dripped.

How can I solve it? What could the root cause be?
Extruder Temp: 200°C
HeatBed 55°C°
Material PLA
Nozzle: 0.4mm

First Layer H: 0.4mm (I also tried 0.2 but strands didn't stick on Kapton)
Layer H: 0.4mm

Thanks

Edited 5 time(s). Last edit at 07/08/2015 08:02AM by gianni21.
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_1524.JPG (382.2 KB)
Re: printing issue
July 08, 2015 09:07AM
For a 0.4 nozzle the max. recommended layerheight is 0.32mm.
Why did the 0.2 layer not stick?
Was it squeezed to much, or not at all?
A good z-zero adjustment is important.
-Olaf
July 08, 2015 12:42PM
Yes I fixed the bed and it seems a way better!
What about retraction? It was set to 10mm and I'm going to reduce it to 2mm.

As I told, the situation has improved, but the first strand printed, in some parts, looked a bit broken.
Layer over layer it has been fixed automatically, but I'm wondering if it's normal.

Thanks
July 08, 2015 12:52PM
My retraction is set to 4.5mm and I can't figure out if I need to change it or not, but 2mm seems like a little too little to me, but I really don't know.

smiling smiley

Master Tinkerer
July 08, 2015 12:57PM
You don't need to heat the bed for PLA.
July 08, 2015 12:59PM
Printing is ongoing, what about that scuff in the middle?
It looks like the nozzle bumps over the extruded plastic damaging its shape....

Do I have to play with retraction a little bit? Lifting Z? Increasing retraction speed?
Before I was wrong, my retraction was (and it's still) set to 1mm, NO Z lifting, Speed 30 m/s.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 07/08/2015 01:17PM by gianni21.
Attachments:
open | download - FullSizeRender.jpg (263.9 KB)
July 08, 2015 02:36PM