Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Messy print of fine details. Is this normal?

Posted by stevemeetswest 
Messy print of fine details. Is this normal?
June 20, 2015 07:59AM
Hi there,

I am relatively new to 3d printing and I am starting to try smaller prints with details. I am noticing that when it comes to very small details (1-3mm) it gets quite messy when printing. Not sure if this is normal.

I am using a .3mm nozzle and .2mm print height. I am using ABS.

I have attached a pic of my print which is about 2.5 inches tall - and it shows details seem ok towards the bottom but as you go towards the top it becomes more and more 'blob' like in definition

When I was watching the print it seems like towards the top it was just pushing a small amount of liquid ABS around without any real definition/detail possible. I am not sure if what the pic shows it to be expected or if it is possible to get even more definition than I have now with a smaller nozzle and/or print height.

Is there an adjustment or setting I should change to get better definition when printing areas that are only a 3-8mm in size?

Thanks in advance.

Steve
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_20150614_174553968.jpg (110 KB)
Re: Messy print of fine details. Is this normal?
June 20, 2015 09:59AM
You have to reduce your hot end temp when reaching smaller pieces unless there are more than 1, then that might be okay
June 20, 2015 10:23AM
It is a temperature problem.
In your slicer you can set a minimum layertime, this way the previous printed layer can cool off before printing the next layer.
June 20, 2015 09:21PM
gforce1
It is a temperature problem.
In your slicer you can set a minimum layertime, this way the previous printed layer can cool off before printing the next layer.

great - thanks for the feedback I will give it a shot
June 20, 2015 11:32PM